Skip to main content
Pages and Files
2015 Weather Generator
A 03 - Jotunheim
A 04 - Kara Sea
A 05 - Laptev Sea
A 06 - Laokkoy
Ability Score Checker
Affect Normal Fires
Mammal Behaviour I
Add "All Pages"
This describes an attack in which the combatant deliberately moves into the hex of an opponent, in order to force that opponent out of that hex and into another. This may be done in lieu of a normal attack, in which the combatant states that they are attempting to "overbear" rather than attack with weapon. It may also occur due to
, in which the combatant does not have sufficient
(AP) to successfully move through an opponent's hex. It is recommended that the reader become familiar with charging rules, as much of what is included below relates to overbearing in this manner.
Overbearing during Melee
To succeed in overbearing during
, the combatant expends the necessary amount of AP to move directly into the opponent's hex, always remembering that there is an additional 1 AP penalty for moving out of a combat hex (which includes moving into the enemy's hex). In effect, for a brief moment the combatants will be seen to buffet against one another (not to be confused with
), too close to effectively use weapons against one another. The rule here is that this situation must be resolved
during the attacker's move
, either by forcing back the enemy into another hex, or failing to do so and therefore retreating back to the hex from which the overbearing was attempted.
Because overbearing is considered an
, it requires 2 AP to accomplish, unless the attacker has the benefit of
, enabling them to overbear with only 1 AP expended. This will mean that a combatant can only attempt to overbear if they possess at least 3 AP total at the start of their move; otherwise, they will not have sufficient movement to make the attack and it will be considered to have failed.
To successfully overbear, the combatant's total mass (body weight and equipment together) is compared against the defender's mass, according to the following table:
A successful attack is one that hits
, adjusted according to the combatant's strength, level and the table above. Any opponent that has been successfully overborne must retreat to one hex away from the attacker's direction of movement. This will often require a cascade effect, where others must make room for a withdrawing defender.
The damage done from overbearing is comparable to
: 1d4 -3, adjusted by the combatant's wearing of gauntlets and strength bonus.
Note that if multiple attackers coordinate their overbearing attacks, the total weight
of all attackers should be added together
to determine the modifier. Only the
attacker will enter the opponent's hex and it will be the heaviest attacker who rolls an attack die to determine if the attack is successful.
The reverse is also true: if trying to push an opponent into a hex occupied by another defender,
all defenders should be added together
to determine resistance.
Overbearing while Charging
In the example above, Caitlyn is charging, having achieved a
movement. For whatever reason (choice, lack of movement or because her charge was broken), she has entered Abbro's hex; unable to go further, she announces that she is "overbearing," intending to force Abbro out of the hex as described above. If she succeeds, she will force him to retreat to hex 402; if she fails, she will have to retreat to hex 203, the last hex she entered before charging into Abbro's hex.
Because of the charge, Caitlyn is judged to have
into Abbro's hex; were Abbro moving also, this would be judged a collision. Therefore, because both will take damage from the impact, this damage must be resolved before a successful overbearing can be determined. A d20 is rolled (to see if the crash is critical) and both take damage.
If either combatant is stunned by this damage, this will affect the resolution of who occupies the hex at the end of Caitlyn's move. If Abbro is stunned, he will fall back into hex 402; if Caitlyn is stunned, she will fall back into hex 203. It is possible that both are stunned. If any of these occur, the resolution of overbearing can be considered resolved.
Now suppose that Caitlyn is not stunned but Abbro is; and further suppose that Caitlyn began her movement with 3 AP. She has expended 1 AP moving through hexes 203 and into 302, at a cost of
½ AP each, leaving her with 2 AP left, even though she has crashed (she didn't take enough damage to stun her). This leaves her with
enough AP to attack,
as it is still considered her turn. If she wishes, in the situation shown above, she can choose not to attack Abbro, but Beren instead, having intended to shoulder Aggro out of the hex so she can do this.
Let us assume, however, that neither Caitlyn nor Abbro has been stunned by the crash and we still need to resolve who will be forced out of the hex. This is accomplished as already described above, except that Caitlyn's movement gives her a 50% bonus to her total weight for determining the modifier she needs to hit.
help on how to format text
Turn off "Getting Started"